My Top 5 NBA jerseys

The NBA season tipped off last night, and even though basketball is far from my favorite sport, I thought I’d give my top five favorite NBA jerseys

5. Portland TrailBlazers Away

Portland may be one of the NBA’s smaller markets, but wow oh wow do the blazers get some classy duds, the likes of this great red,black and white jersey have been worn by bad boys like Rasheed Wallace and Damon Stoudamire, (Increasing the badass factor of the jersey) to newer stars like Brandon Roy and LaMarcus Aldridge. This jersey has been around for a while, but it is a great and menacing look for the team to wear on court

4. Utah Jazz Away

Utah just unveiled these uniforms over the summer, it finally represents the Jazz as a team name (instead of the former mountain motif) however, it still doesn’t justify the team name being in Utah, but that’s another argument for another day. I’ve always liked the Jazz’ throwbacks, and these just exude class for a classy team, the likes of Deron Williams, Mehmet Okur, Andrei Kirilenko and crew will be finally be playing in uniforms worthy of the team.

3. Chicago Bulls Away/3rd

Chicago jumped on the Black for Black’s Sake train back in the Jordan days, but that was completely acceptable because the team had His Airness. The uniforms have changed slightly since the Jordan days, but like Portland, I like the Black using red accents for a meaner look than the team’s typical red road uniforms. However, I do with the team would bring back the red pinstripes used during the Jordan era.

2. Denver Nuggets Away

One of my favorite player’s, the Nuggets’ resident psychopath, Chris Andersen, wearing one of my favorite jerseys. Denver and Cleveland both redid their uniforms in 2003 with the arrivals of ‘Melo and LeBron respectively. I absolutely loved Denver’s when it was released, probably because it is similar to that of the Tar Heels (Sky Blue is one of my favorite colors) but still, entering its eighth season, I still enjoy watching Denver play in these brightly colored duds.

1. Orlando Magic Away

I’ve always been drawn to the Magic, maybe because when I went to Disney World as a kid, they were the first NBA team I recognized after the Pistons,this jersey, which came out in 2008, is an homage the 1990s’ teams uniforms when Shaq and Penny Hardaway played for the team. Howard, Nelson, Turkgulu and the rest of the team make these uniforms even better by playing great basketball, but its hard to beat the combination of black and blue combined with white pinstriping.

Well there you go, what I think are the best 5 unis in the NBA – J

 

Posted on December 6, 2010, in Basketball, Top Lists/Countdowns. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Which NCAA Div I men’s basketball team(s) wore gold/yellow w/black trim in the early 1980’s? May also have had school logo or player’s number on right side of uniform trunks.

    Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

